Tutus on Tour

23 Feb - 12 Mar 2023

Graham Fletcher, 2001. Photo by Ross Brown

To begin our 70th birthday year, Tutus on Tour 2023 looks affectionately back at the RNZB’s early days, with performances in some of Aotearoa’s smaller cities and towns and loveliest historic theatres.

Patricia Barker has carefully curated a collection of works which encapsulate the history of ballet, and her desire to share treasures from the RNZB’s recent past alongside works new and old that the dancers can’t wait to perform.

Le Papillon and After the Rain – made almost two centuries apart – both show the intimate magic of a couple dancing together, creating a miniature world in the spotlight onstage. ‘Nobody Takes Me Seriously’ from 2001’s landmark FrENZy is a toe-tapping solo to Tim Finn’s Kiwi classic and the chance for one of the company’s men to cut loose, with style.

The programme is completed with two works each for eight dancers: the New Zealand premiere of Brian Enos’ elegantly neo-classical Cold Winter’s Waiting (2013) and Greg Horsman’s classical showpiece Holberg Suite, created for Tutus on Tour in 2009 and now given a welcome revival.

Single tickets go on sale 1 December 2022.

Find out more about attending a ballet.

Dates and times

Kapiti, 23 February - 25 February

Te Raukura

Thursday 23rd February 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Friday 24th February 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Saturday 25th February 1:30pm
Buy tickets

Saturday 25th February 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Hastings, 25 February

Toitoi - Opera House

Saturday 25th February 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Carterton, 27 February

Carterton Events Centre

Monday 27th February 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Gisborne, 28 February - 01 March

War Memorial Theatre

Tuesday 28th February 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Wednesday 1st March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Whanganui, 01 March

Royal Whanganui Opera House

Wednesday 1st March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Hamilton, 04 March - 05 March

Clarence Street Theatre

Saturday 4th March 1:30pm
Buy tickets

Saturday 4th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Sunday 5th March 1:30pm
Buy tickets

Blenheim, 04 March

ASB Theatre Marlborough

Saturday 4th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Nelson, 07 March - 09 March

Theatre Royal

Tuesday 7th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Wednesday 8th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Thursday 9th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Kerikeri, 09 March

Turner Centre

Thursday 9th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Ashburton, 11 March

Ashburton Event Centre

Saturday 11th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets

Whangarei, 12 March

Forum North - Capitaine Bougainville Theatre

Sunday 12th March 7:00pm
Buy tickets


After The Rain - Choreography

Christopher Wheeldon

After The Rain - Music

Arvo Pärt, 'Spiegel im Spiegel'

Holberg Suite - Choreography

Greg Horsman

Holberg Suite - Music

Edvard Grieg

Le Papillon - Choreography

Marie Taglioni

Le Papillon - Music

Jacques Offenbach

Cold Winter's Waiting - Choreography

Brian Enos

Cold Winter's Waiting - Music

Alexandre Desplat, Carly Comando, Sebastien Escofet

'Nobody Takes Me Seriously' from FrENZy - Choreography

Mark Baldwin

'Nobody Takes Me Seriously' from FrENZy - Music

Split Enz

Our leading partners