Swan Lake

5 May - 5 Jun 2022

Subscribe and Save

Principal Sara Garbowski, Photo: Stephen A'Court.

Considered the greatest of all classical ballets, Swan Lake is a perfect marriage of music and dance.

With Tchaikovsky’s sweeping score – lush, romantic, instantly recognisable – and Kristian Fredrikson’s opulent designs, gorgeously lit by Jon Buswell, Swan Lake transports the audience from palace ballroom to lakeside in wave upon wave of beauty and emotion. You’ll be inexorably drawn into the unfolding tragedy and exalt as the dancers bring every dramatic nuance of their iconic roles to life.

Revisiting the original production to celebrate the dramatic and technical brilliance of a new generation of RNZB dancers, this collaboration with distinguished former Artistic Director Russell Kerr will celebrate the Company’s rich past and bright future.

We are thrilled to be able to present this beautiful production, not seen in Aotearoa since 2013, with the support of colleagues from the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra (Wellington), the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra (Christchurch) and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra (Auckland).

“The Royal New Zealand Ballet production of Swan Lake exceeds expectations.

Immaculately professional, the production overflows with an opulence and a gracefulness hard to find in other art forms, making show-goers feel almost like royalty while the dancers are on stage.”

Lauren Hayes, Southland Times

Subscribe today and save up to 20%. Tickets for individual performances will be on sale on Thursday 21 October.

Find out more about attending a ballet.

Dates and times


Wellington, 05 May - 08 May

Opera House


Thursday 5th May 7:30pm


Friday 6th May 7:30pm Pre-performance Talk


Saturday 7th May 1:30pm Post-Matinee Q+A


Saturday 7th May 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up


Sunday 8th May 3:00pm

Palmerston North, 12 May

Regent on Broadway


Thursday 12th May 7:30pm Pre-performance Talk and Warm Up, Curtain Up

Christchurch, 19 May - 21 May

Isaac Theatre Royal


Thursday 19th May 7:30pm


Friday 20th May 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 21st May 1:30pm Post-Matinee Q+A


Saturday 21st May 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up

Auckland, 26 May - 29 May

Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Aotea Centre


Thursday 26th May 7:30pm


Friday 27th May 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 28th May 1:30pm Post-Matinee Q+A


Saturday 28th May 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up


Sunday 29th May 1:30pm

Napier, 04 June - 05 June

Municipal Theatre


Saturday 4th June 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk


Sunday 5th June 1:30pm

Subscribe and Save
SUBSCRIBE AND SAVE 20%

Credits


Choreography

Russell Kerr (after Petipa/Ivanov)

Staging

Patricia Barker & Michael Auer

Music

Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Design

Kristian Fredrikson

Lighting Design

Jon Buswell

Orchestras

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, Christchurch Symphony Orchestra

Our leading partners