NZSO's Setting Up Camp

The Soldier's Tale

24 Feb - 13 Mar 2021

See latest update: The Soldier’s Tale concerts cancelled due to illness. 

The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and New Zealand Herald, with Conductor Hamish McKeich and Director Sara Brodie present Stravinsky’s well-loved The Soldier’s Tale, in association with the Royal New Zealand Ballet.

You’ll see our dancers performing live with players of the NZSO, with choreography by our very own Choreographer in Residence Shaun James Kelly, and costumes and lighting from our talented inhouse teams.

Written “to be read, played and danced”, The Soldier’s Tale tells the story of the titular Soldier who makes a deal with the Devil. This pocket-sized theatre piece gave Stravinsky the chance to include all of his favourite musical influences. You’ll hear tango, waltz, ragtime, klezmer, church chorales, and the paso doble all brought together in Stravinsky’s intoxicating score.

Together our dancers, an ensemble from the NZSO and actors present this classic tale of magic, desire and being careful what you wish for.

 

Adult : $30   Child : $15

Presented by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra in association with the Royal New Zealand Ballet. The Soldier’s Tale is not part of the RNZB’s 2021 subscription season

Dates and times


Kāpiti, 24 February

Te Raukura ki Kāpiti


Wednesday 24th February 7:30pm

Carterton, 25 February

Carterton Events Centre


Thursday 25th February 7:30pm

Upper Hutt, 26 February

Expressions Whirinaki Arts & Entertainment Centre


Friday 26th February 7:30pm

Wanaka, 04 March

Lake Wanaka Centre


Thursday 4th March 7:30pm

Christchurch, 11 March

James Hay Theatre


Thursday 11th March 7:30pm

Nelson, 13 March

Theatre Royal Nelson


Saturday 13th March 7:30pm

Auckland, 10 June

Pump House Theatre


Thursday 10th June 7:30pm

Manukau, 11 June

BNZ Theatre at Vodafone Events Centre


Friday 11th June 7:30pm

Kerikeri, 12 June

Turner Centre


Saturday 12th June 7:30pm

Whangarei, 13 June

Forum North


Sunday 13th June 2:00pm

Dunedin, 16 June

Regent Theatre


Wednesday 16th June 7:30pm

Oamaru, 17 June

Oamaru Opera House


Thursday 17th June 7:30pm

Ashburton, 18 June

Ashburton Trust Event Centre


Friday 18th June 7:30pm

It’s not too late to subscribe and save 20%

Our leading partners