The Ryman Healthcare Season of

A Midsummer Night's Dream

28 Oct - 11 Dec 2021

RNZB dancers Katherine Minor as Titania, Laurynas Vejalis as Oberon, Levi Teachout as Bottom and Kihiro Kusukami as Puck. Image by Ross Brown, 2020

Subscribe and Save

2021 Subscriptions are now open. Book for 2 or more performances and you’ll save up to 20%. If you would like to purchase tickets to a single performance, single tickets will be on sale on Tuesday 15 December.

 

In association with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra.

Let us transport you to a fantastical world of dazzling dance, music and enchantment.  Lovers, fairies, mischief and moonlight conspire in Shakespeare’s classic tale, vividly retold with sparkling steps and Mendelssohn’s famous score.

Following its hugely successful world premiere in 2015, the Royal New Zealand Ballet is thrilled to be bringing A Midsummer Night’s Dream back for Christmas 2021.

Created for the RNZB by one of the most sought-after choreographers on the international stage, Liam Scarlett, A Midsummer Night’s Dream was an overnight sensation at its premiere, with capacity audiences throughout its first New Zealand tour. Distinguished designer Tracy Grant Lord created the glorious vision of Shakespeare’s iconic characters and enchanted wood, illuminated with lighting by Kendall Smith.

Don’t miss your chance to see this spectacular ballet when it returns to Aotearoa – a wonderful treat for young and old, lovers of dance, music and sheer theatrical magic.

Performances in Wellington, Christchurch and Auckland will be accompanied by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Hamish McKeich, all other performances will feature an NZSO recording.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream is a co-production between the Royal New Zealand Ballet and Queensland Ballet.

Dates and times


Wellington, 28 October - 31 October

Opera House


Thursday 28th October 7:30pm


Friday 29th October 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 30th October 1:30pm Post-Matinee Q+A


Saturday 30th October 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up


Sunday 31st October 3:00pm

Napier, 05 November - 06 November

Municipal Theatre


Friday 5th November 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 6th November 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up

Palmerston North, 11 November

Regent on Broadway


Thursday 11th November 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk and Warm Up, Curtain Up

Christchurch, 18 November - 20 November

Isaac Theatre Royal


Thursday 18th November 7:30pm


Friday 19th November 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 20th November 1:30pm Post-Matinee Q+A


Saturday 20th November 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up

Invercargill, 24 November

Civic Theatre


Wednesday 24th November 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up

Dunedin, 27 November

Regent Theatre


Saturday 27th November 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up

Auckland, 02 December - 11 December

Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Aotea Centre


Thursday 2nd December 7:30pm


Friday 3rd December 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 4th December 1:30pm Post-Matinee Q+A


Saturday 4th December 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up


Sunday 5th December 3:00pm

Takapuna - Bruce Mason Centre


Friday 10th December 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk

Takapuna - Bruce Mason Centre


Saturday 11th December 1:30pm Post-Matinee Q+A


Saturday 11th December 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up

Subscribe and Save
Subscribe to our 2021 season and save up to 20%

Credits


Choreography

Liam Scarlett

Music

Felix Mendelssohn

Music Arrangement

Nigel Gaynor

Design

Tracy Grant Lord

Lighting Design

Kendall Smith

Conductor

Hamish McKeich

Orchestra

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

Our leading partners