Harry Haythorne Award 2018

Details announced - 2018

New choreography is pure oxygen for any dance company. Creating a new work together can be an intoxicating voyage of discovery, and for some, the realisation of a long-held ambition. At the same time, the process of creation can bring a fresh appreciation of repertoire and technique, and the challenges and joys of capturing ideas in motion.

From its earliest days, the RNZB has supported choreographers from within its ranks, with works by Cameron Macmillan, Andrew Simmons, Brendan Bradshaw and Catherine Eddy, Loughlan Prior and Shaun James Kelly, coming to the fore in recent years.

The Harry Haythorne Choreographic Award, in memory of the RNZB’s longest serving Artistic Director, Harry Haythorne MBE (1926 – 2014) was inaugurated in 2015. Through Harry’s personal generosity and that of his many friends and professional colleagues, the Award was established, with the support of the Ballet Foundation of New Zealand Trust, to provide opportunities for emerging choreographers to take ‘first steps’, creating a short work for studio performance by dancers of the RNZB.

Details of the 2018 Harry Haythorne Choreographic Award, including entry criteria and performance dates, will be announced in 2018, via rnzb.org.nz.

Subscribe for 2018 and save 20%

Our leading partners