The Ryman Healthcare Season of

Hansel & Gretel

26 Oct - 9 Dec 2023

Group bookings available Subscribe and Save

Soloists Shaun James Kelly as Hansel and Kirby Selchow as Gretel, 2019. Photo by Stephen A’Court

Faint starlight peeps through the dark forest canopy. It is midnight: the witching hour.

Alone and lost, two hungry children stumble towards a glowing vision of warmth and comfort, heaven for any child with an empty belly and an aching heart. But all is not as it seems…

Following its triumphant premiere in 2019, the Royal New Zealand Ballet’s acclaimed Hansel & Gretel returns for Christmas 2023. Loughlan Prior, with Claire Cowan and Kate Hawley, has created a magical world of memorable characters: a brave brother and sister; their loving parents who never give up hope; the mystical Sandman and his sparkling Dew Fairies; and the most delightful (or is she?) Ice Cream Witch… not forgetting the Man in the Moon, an array of spooky forest creatures, fantastical food and a sinister chorus line of pink-iced gingerbread men.

Laughter, tears, shivers down the spine, plenty of sugar and just a touch of spice together make a recipe for a truly happy ending and a wonderful ballet experience for all ages.

Subscribe today and save up to 20%.

Single tickets go on sale 28 November 2022.

Find out more about attending a ballet.

Dates and times


Wellington, 26 October - 29 October

St James Theatre


Thursday 26th October 7:30pm
Buy tickets


Friday 27th October 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk
Buy tickets


Saturday 28th October 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up!
Buy tickets


Sunday 29th October 1:30pm
Buy tickets

Napier, 03 November - 04 November

Municipal Theatre


Friday 3rd November 7:30pm
Buy tickets

Palmerston North, 10 November

Invercargill, 15 November

Civic Theatre


Wednesday 15th November Warm Up, Curtain Up! Audio Description Available

Dunedin, 18 November

Regent Theatre


Saturday 18th November 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up! Audio Description available.
Buy tickets

Christchurch, 23 November - 25 November

Isaac Theatre Royal


Thursday 23rd November 7:30pm
Buy tickets


Friday 24th November 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk
Buy tickets


Saturday 25th November 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up!
Buy tickets

Auckland, 30 November - 03 December

Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Aotea Centre


Thursday 30th November 7:30pm
Buy tickets


Friday 1st December 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk
Buy tickets


Saturday 2nd December 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up!
Buy tickets


Sunday 3rd December 1:30pm
Buy tickets

Takapuna, 08 December - 09 December

Bruce Mason Centre


Friday 8th December 7:30pm Pre-Performance Talk
Buy tickets


Saturday 9th December 1:30pm Post-Performance Q&A
Buy tickets


Saturday 9th December 7:30pm Warm Up, Curtain Up!
Buy tickets

Group bookings available for this show Subscribe and Save

Credits


Choreography

Loughlan Prior

Music

Claire Cowan

Design

Kate Hawley

Lighting

Jon Buswell

Projections & Animations

POW Studios

Conductor

Hamish McKeich

Orchestra

Presented in association with Orchestra Wellington, Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, and Christchurch Symphony Orchestra

Our leading partners