Winner of Choreographic Award announced

The Royal New Zealand Ballet, with the support of the Ballet Foundation of New Zealand, is pleased to announce Loughlan Prior as the winner of the inaugural Harry Haythorne Award.

Loughlan, a member of the company since 2010, took both the choreographic award selected by a panel of five judges and the audience prize for his piece Eve, danced by Laura Saxon Jones, Kirby Selchow, Bryn Watkins, William Fitzgerald and Loughlan himself.

Loughlan describes his work as one presented in episodes, which examines the story of original sin, the power of redemption and the emotional dynamics that exist between men and woman.

Francesco Ventriglia, RNZB Artistic Director, who created the award with the support of the Ballet Foundation to nurture choreographic talent within the company, and who was one of the judges, said of the winning work, “With Eve, Loughlan has taken a step forward in his choreographic dream and he is starting to develop his own chorographic vocabulary.  We really hope he can use this prize towards further research. The RNZB will continue to nurture his talent.”

Loughlan, who received $1,500 in prize money, was delighted with the win. “I am so proud and humbled to be the recipient of the Harry Haythorne Award. Having a platform to create on the talented artists of the RNZB, and then to showcase a work to the public, has been an invaluable moment in my artistic development.  I would like to sincerely thank everyone who has supported me on this journey.”

The award is named after former RNZB Artistic Director Harry Haythorne who died last year, as a way of continuing his legacy.

The inaugural event held over two evenings at the RNZB Wellington studios was a sell-out. Also in competition were RNZB dancers Shane Urton, Nathanael Skelton, Shaun James Kelly and Damir Emric who also presented their choreographic works danced by RNZB company members.


Choreography: Loughlan Prior

Music: Paolo Tosti Ideale, Cameron Barclay tenor, Simon Baker piano. Zibigniew Preisner Offertorium, Lacrimosa Jo Thorpe poems from LEN & Other Poems spoken by Cameron Barclay

Dancers: Laura Saxon Jones, Kirby Selchow, Bryn Watkins, William Fitzgerald and Loughlan Prior

eve-_by_loughlan_prior Eve by Loughlan Prior