For Dance Teachers and Dancers

Open Classes

We help to develop young dancers through a range of exciting classes for students of all levels. These non-syllabus open classes will be led by our artistic staff and RNZB dancers. They offer ballet students a valuable opportunity to enhance their technique while engaging with your national ballet company.

Please note that the criteria for participation in Open Classes have changed – see below

Junior: Dancers must be at least 8 years old and dancing at Grade 3 level or above
Intermediate: Dancers must be at least 11 years old and dancing at a minimum level of Intermediate Foundation, Grades 7 – 8, Intermediate or equivalent.
Advanced: Dancers must be at least 14 years old and dancing at a minimum of Advanced Foundation level

  • Not all class levels are offered in every centre for every season.
  • The RNZB reserves the right to exclude students on the day who are not at the required standard.

Hansel & Gretel  Open Classes Book here

Napier – Sunday 17 November
Onstage at Napier Municipal Theatre
Junior 8.30am – 9.30am
Intermediate 9.45am – 11am

Christchurch – Saturday 23 November
Onstage at Isaac Theatre Royal
Junior 8.15am – 9.15am
Intermediate 9.30am – 11am

Dunedin – Sunday 1 December
Venue to be confirmed
Junior 10am – 11am
Intermediate 11.15am – 12.30pm

Auckland – Saturday 7 December
Onstage at the Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Aotea Centre
Junior 8.15am – 9.15am
Advanced 9.30am -11am

Auckland – Saturday 14 December
Venue TBC
Intermediate 9.30am – 11am

Dates and times are subject to change.

2020
Wellington
Sunday 29 March, Sunday 31 May, Sunday 23 August, Sunday 1 November

Auckland
Sunday 5 July, Saturday 19 and Sunday 20 September, Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 December

Napier
Saturday 6 June, Sunday 13 September, Sunday 29 November

Christchurch
Saturday 13 June, Saturday 29 and Sunday 30 August, Saturday 21 November

Tauranga
Sunday 28 June

Dunedin
Sunday 6 September, Sunday 15 November

For all enquiries, please email education@rnzb.org.nz  or contact RNZB Education, Community & Accessibility Manager Pascale Parenteau,  021 678 521

Our leading partners