For Dance Teachers and Dancers

Open Classes

We help to develop young dancers through a range of exciting classes for students of all levels. These non-syllabus open classes will be led by our artistic staff. They offer ballet students a valuable opportunity to enhance their technique while engaging with your national ballet company.

2021 Open Classes
Online bookings will open four weeks prior.

Giselle
Wellington  – Sunday 18 April
RNZB Dance Centre
Junior 10am – 11am
Intermediate 11.30am – 1pm
Advanced 11.30am – 1pm
Book now

Napier – Sunday 23 May
onstage at the Municipal Theatre
Junior/Intermediate 9.45am – 11am

Auckland – Saturday 29 May 
onstage at the Aotea Centre
Advanced 9.30am – 11am
Intermediate 5pm – 6.15pm

Auckland – Sunday 30 May
Wellesley Studios
Junior 10.30am – 11.30am

Christchurch – Saturday 5 June
onstage at the Isaac Theatre Royal
Advanced  9.30am – 11am
Intermediate 5pm – 6.15pm

Christchurch – Sunday 6 June
St Margaret’s College
Junior 10.30am – 11.30am


The Firebird with Paquita

Wellington  – Sunday 1 August
RNZB Dance Centre
Junior 10am – 11am
Intermediate 11.30am – 1pm
Advanced 11.30am – 1pm

Napier – Saturday 7 August
onstage at the Municipal Theatre
Junior 9.45am – 10.45am
Intermediate/Advanced 11am – 12.15pm

Auckland – Saturday 14 August 
onstage at the Aotea Centre
Advanced 9.30am – 11am
Intermediate 5pm – 6.15pm

Auckland – Sunday 15 August
Wellesley Studios
Junior 9am – 10am

Christchurch – Saturday 28 August
onstage at the Isaac Theatre Royal
Junior 9.45am – 10.45am
Intermediate 11am – 12.15pm

Christchurch – Sunday 29 August
St Margaret’s College
Advanced 5pm – 6.15pm

A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Wellington  – Sunday 31 October
RNZB Dance Centre
Junior 10am – 11am
Intermediate 11.30am – 1pm
Advanced 11.30am – 1pm

Napier – Saturday 6 November
Porritt Hall
Junior 9.45am – 10.45am
Intermediate/Advanced 11am – 12.15pm

Christchurch – Saturday 20 November
onstage at the Isaac Theatre Royal
Advanced 10.15am – 11.45am

Christchurch – Sunday 21 November
St Margaret’s College
Junior 9am – 10am
Intermediate 10am – 12pm

Auckland – Sunday 5 December
Wellesley Studios
Intermediate 10am – 11.30am
Advanced 10am – 11.30am
Junior 11.45am – 12.45pm

Please note the criteria for participation in Open Classes.

Junior: Dancers must be at least 8 years old and dancing at Grade 3 level or above
Intermediate: Dancers must be at least 11 years old and dancing at a minimum level of Intermediate Foundation, Grades 7 – 8, Intermediate or equivalent.
Advanced: Dancers must be at least 14 years old and dancing at a minimum of Advanced Foundation level

  • Not all class levels are offered in every centre for every season.
  • The RNZB reserves the right to exclude students on the day who are not at the required standard.
  • Online bookings open one month before the classes

Online Open Classes – classes available now
We’re happy to let you know that the RNZB Ballet Masters have created another series of online classes. See the links below and keep an eye on the website as there will be more classes to follow.

Junior with Clytie Campbell
Intermediate/Advanced with Laura Schultz

For all enquiries, please email education@rnzb.org.nz  or contact RNZB Education, Community & Accessibility Manager Pascale Parenteau,  021 678 521

Our leading partners