The Piano: the ballet

23 Feb - 7 Apr 2018

RNZB dancer Abigail Boyle. Photo by Ross Brown

Inspired by the film The Piano with permission kindly granted by Jane Campion, Jan Chapman and Saddleback Productions.

25 years ago, cinema goers around the world were captivated by an extraordinary tale of desire, violence and hope. The story of Ada McGrath and her daughter Flora, husband Alastair and lover Baines unfolded against the wild grandeur and desolation of Aotearoa, as Jane Campion’s award-winning film took audiences on a visceral journey into New Zealand’s imagined past, as it had never been portrayed before.

Drawing on the rich inspiration of The Piano, the Royal New Zealand Ballet is honoured to stage the world premiere of this new full-length dance work by Jiří Bubeníček. Originally conceived as a short work for Dortmund Ballet, The Piano: the ballet is now re-imagined and expanded for the RNZB, giving Ada’s story a new and distinctively New Zealand voice and, in dance, a powerful new means of expression. Excerpts from Michael Nyman’s iconic film score are blended with evocative music by Debussy, Arensky, Stravinsky, Schnittke, Brahms and Shostakovich.

Presented in association with the New Zealand Festival and the Auckland Arts Festival.

The Piano: the ballet contains adult content including depictions of violence and sex.  This production is not recommended for children under the age of 12 years.

Dates and times


On Sale Dates, 25 September - 01 November

Dress Circle


Monday 25th September More about Dress Circle

Existing Subscribers


Monday 2nd October More about subscribing

New Subscribers


Monday 16th October More about subscribing

Single ticket sales


Wednesday 1st November View Pricing

Wellington, 23 February - 25 February

St James Theatre


Friday 23rd February 7:30pm Free Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 24th February 1:30pm Free Post-Matinee Q&A


Saturday 24th February 7:30pm With Warm Up, Curtain Up


Sunday 25th February 4:00pm

Napier, 02 March - 03 March

Municipal Theatre


Friday 2nd March 7:30pm


Saturday 3rd March 7:30pm With Warm Up, Curtain Up

Auckland, 08 March - 10 March

ASB Theatre, Aotea Centre


Thursday 8th March 7:30pm


Friday 9th March 7:30pm Free Pre-Performance Talk


Saturday 10th March 1:30pm Free Post-Matinee Q&A


Saturday 10th March 7:30pm With Warm Up, Curtain Up

Dunedin, 16 March

Regent Theatre


Friday 16th March 7:30pm With Warm Up, Curtain Up

Christchurch, 21 March - 23 March

Isaac Theatre Royal


Wednesday 21st March 7:30pm


Thursday 22nd March 7:30pm With Warm Up, Curtain Up


Friday 23rd March 7:30pm Free Pre-performance Talk

Palmerston North , 28 March

Regent on Broadway


Wednesday 28th March 7:30pm With Warm Up, Curtain Up

Rotorua, 06 April - 07 April

Civic Theatre


Friday 6th April 7:30pm


Saturday 7th April 7:30pm With Warm Up, Curtain Up

Subscribe for 2018 and save 20%

Credits


Choreography

Jiří Bubeníček

Set and Video Design

Otto Bubeníček

Costume Design

Elsa Pavanel

Music Arrangement and Composition

Otto Bubeníček

Staging

Jiří Bubeníček and Otto Bubeníček

Lighting Designer

Jeremy Fern

Maori Advisor

Moss Patterson

Our leading partners