Harry Haythorne Award

19 Oct - 21 Oct 2017

New choreography is pure oxygen for any dance company. Creating a new work together can be an intoxicating voyage of discovery, and for some, the realisation of a long-held ambition. At the same time, the process of creation can bring a fresh appreciation of repertoire and technique, and the challenges and joys of capturing ideas in motion.

From its earliest days, the RNZB has supported choreographers from within its ranks, with works by Cameron Macmillan, Andrew Simmons, Brendan Bradshaw and Catherine Eddy, and Loughlan Prior, coming to the fore in recent years.

The Harry Haythorne Choreographic Award provides an opportunity for emerging choreographers to take ‘first steps’ by creating a short work for studio performance by dancers of the RNZB. Established in 2015 in memory of the RNZB’s longest serving Artistic Director, Harry Haythorne MBE (1926-2014), the Award is presented by the RNZB and sponsored by The Ballet Foundation of New Zealand through the generous contributions received from Harry himself and his many friends and professional colleagues.

Submissions for the 2017 Harry Haythorne Choreographic Awards are now closed.


Dates and times

Wellington, 19 October - 21 October

RNZB, Studio 1, St James Theatre

Thursday 19th October

Friday 20th October

Saturday 21st October

Request a 2018 Season Guide



Our leading partners